Clients like local Gloucestershire copywriters

The copywriting client that comes back again and again. As in any area of business, its one of the greatest testimonials to your ability, the value that you add to a client’s business and their trust in your abilities. Just the other day, I was thinking about the high percentage of my business that comes from existing clients – mainly in Gloucestershire and immediately surrounding counties.

Completion of a new joinery services website
My thoughts on the subject were prompted by the completion of a new website for Willison Joinery Ltd, based in Leckhampton, Cheltenham. The new site is the latest in a series of projects I’ve undertaken for Willison Construction over the last couple of years: their main Construction site; a site for roofing business; additions to the main site when they acquired the joinery business;and now, their stand alone bespoke joinery services site.

Clients say they value their local copywriter
I know from the conversations that I have with the Willison team (and other clients) that one of my attractions (apart from copywriting ability and sensible prices) is the attentive local service that I offer. It amuses me to read the ‘cookie-cutter’ regional web pages from copywriters based in other parts of the UK with their claims that ‘you don’t need a local copywriter’, that everything can be done over the phone and internet, and that you shouldn’t limit yourself to a copywriter in Gloucestershire, Surrey, London or wherever just because of their local presence.

A local copywriter can often offer better service for a competitive fee
Of course you shouldn’t – in some circumstances. But my experience and the words of my clients, several of them respected agencies dealing with major brands, give me a very clear message about the value of working with a local copywriter. Just ask a harassed creative director when he desperately needs to see you at a few hours’ notice: chances are that a London copywriter simply wouldn’t be able to respond in the same way, and for the same project fee.

I know about working at a distance – I’ve done it too
And before anyone protests that ‘he doesn’t know about working at a distance’, please remember that I have serviced projects in London and elsewhere in the UK from Gloucestershire. In fact, my first freelance project was a major one for a leading international agency based in the City. Their client and the project? Only the Metropolitan Police and the small matter of getting a few hundred newsletters written for a few million London households to an incredibly tight deadline. And we did it. But that, and subsequent costing of project enquiries in the South East and northern England, reveals that these are rarely cost-effective to service to the standards that I would want to do so – including the face-to-face fact-find that I believe is so important for many projects.

When another long-standing agency client first hired me, one of their reasons was my proximity to their Gloucestershire offices. Interestingly, their previous copywriter was based in the South East and it hadn’t worked out. Go figure.

My experience tells me that, all things being equal, an experienced, skilled local Gloucestershire copywriter copywriter offers more than the same level of skills and experience based 150 miles away. And so do my clients. So thank you to all of you!

Leave a Reply

