Word macros for copywriters

I discovered Word macros relatively recently. Before that, I’d always thought of them as a rather arcane, hard-to-master aspect of Microsoft’s word-processor. Having had the confidence to experiment, I’ve discovered that a few carefully selected macros make copywriting and editing easier and faster for at least one of the copywriters in Gloucestershire!

Word macros that copywriters will use every day

Between the macros I’ve tracked down online and those I’ve recorded myself, I now have a nice suite of keyboard-accessible tools. Suddenly, a whole bunch of keystrokes or mouse clicks are reduced to a simple shortcut. Applications include toggling through different highlight colours, faster Paste Special, speeding up resetting Word’s Recheck Document function and my latest acquisition, a macro that highlights sentences longer than a set number of characters in a Word document. As a complement to the built-in Readability statistics this is a boon for any copywriter where writing-time is precious and certain repetitive tasks have to be repeated again and again.

A great free resource if you need Word macros

If you need a ready source of handy Word macros, I can’t recommend Paul Beverley’s free e-book, Macros for Writers and Editors too highly. It’s a veritable goldmine of ready to use macros that Paul has painstakingly written and generously made available to the writing and editing fraternity.

Having had some dealings with Paul online (he kindly helped me with a macro application that wasn’t in his book), I can confirm that he’s an extremely clever, really decent bloke, and ever so helpful. Read more here…

Leave a Reply

